Gemmell Awards at Nine Worlds 2015

Photo courtesy of Sandy Auden from the 2012 Gemmell Awards

Nine Worlds is thrilled to be hosting the 2015 Gemmell Awards for Fantasy.

The David Gemmell Awards for Fantasy enters its seventh year in 2015, once again recognising and rewarding the very best in fantasy fiction and artwork each year. With a host of acclaimed winners in the roll of honour, the Awards are again expected to be much-coveted this year. The Awards ceremony is now confirmed to take place at Nine Worlds Geekfest, one of the UK's largest genre conventions and a highly anticipated event for readers, writers and fans of fantasy and science-fiction. The Gemmell Awards ceremony is a superb addition to an always lively and interesting programme, and will be taking place at 8pm on Saturday 8th August.

The ceremony will see the three 2015 awards presented, with the Legend Award for Best Fantasy Novel, Morningstar Award for Best Fantasy Debut and Ravenheart Award for Best Fantasy Cover Art. Attracting a wide host of writers and publishing professionals, the glitzy ceremony is always a highlight of the fantasy fiction calendar.

Stan Nicholls, Chair for the Gemmell Awards, said: 'I couldn't think of a better event for us to partner with than Nine Worlds, and we look forward to bringing another superb awards ceremony not only to our regular attendees but a whole new audience on August 8th.

‘Nine Worlds is immensely proud to be hosting the 2015 Gemmell Awards,’ says Erich Schultz, co-founder of Nine Worlds Geekfest. ‘The Gemmells play a terrific and important role in the fantasy literary scene, and the Nine Worlds team and attendees are hugely excited to be a part of this wonderful institution.’

The Gemmell Awards ceremony takes place at 8pm on Saturday August 8th Nine Worlds Geekfest event. Members of the public wishing to attend the ceremony will be able to do so for free, but will not have access to any of the other exciting events over the weekend.
The David Gemmell Awards for Fantasy began in 2009, with the aim of celebrating the best in fantasy fiction and commemorating one of its most legendary authors. Since its inaugural year, the awards have been won by authors including Andrezj Sapowski, Graham McNeill, Brandon Sanderson, Pierre Pevel, Patrick Rothfuss, Helen Lowe, Brent Weeks, John Gwynne, Brian McLellan and Mark Lawrence. The Awards continue to pursue their three aims – to raise public awareness of the Fantasy genre, to celebrate the history and cultural importance of Fantasy literature and to appreciate and reward excellence in the field.

Stan Nicholls is an author of fantasy fiction with more than thirty books to his credit. He has also been a journalist and specialist bookshop proprietor. His Orcs: First Blood trilogy is a world-wide bestseller, with over a million copies sold, and he was the recipient of a lifetime achievement award presented at Belgium’s Trolls & Legendes festival in 2007.

Starburst Magazine coverage